Nipper’s Favorite Trick

1970ish.. I’ve introduced “Nipper” before, an outdoor male who was already a few years old when I started his (and my) training. Although he was an outdoor kitty he was used to the rules my mother had taught him so there was good ground to begin with. One of the tricks he LOVED to do was this one – he enjoyed the challenge and showing off. He would sit at my feet and I would keep raising my “hoop” arms and he would sit twitching with anticipation till I gave the command to jump. Eventually I would get too high off the ground and he would look from my arms to my face and meow and I would drop my arms just an inch… and then he would leap.

Nipper could come when called, shake a paw, roll over, jump through “hoop”, go to commanded spot, stay, sit up, and meow on command.

As the years went by the max height of the hoop jumping diminished – something I think I am only now truly understanding his complaints about…

AspCatNipper1970PowellRiverBC

2 comments

  1. threechattycats · March 17, 2016

    What a great picture!

    Liked by 1 person

    • elainesdailykitty · March 17, 2016

      From a time when everything wasn’t photographed Thanks to my brother who was an enthusiast photographically – otherwise there would be no evidence.

      Like

Leave a Reply

