Dilemmas of Working At Home

I do a lot of my work while traveling and in other people’s facilities but I do have the luxury sometimes of working from my home office.  HOWEVER, as anyone that has had to work out of their home knows this can present its own unique challenges.

Often the most difficult individuals to teach to respect your work hours are those that reside in the house with you.  They often remain convinced that your time is theirs anytime you are there and they come to expect specific attentions.

aepcatrustyprincesssunbeamchangeclothes201611

I enter the bedroom during regular hours – I MUST be there to pet the kitties.  I close the curtains (to get changed) and they assume that it is unfortunate that I’m not feeling well but we must be about to get a cuddle in bed.  I re-open the curtains having changed, and things are NOT going as planned.  I pause to take a photo and the message I am receiving is clear – stop this meaningless action and start petting the cats.

When I left for my meeting a few moments later neither of them were impressed.

Hopefully the heating pad and sunbeam consoled them after my dreadful faux pas!

2 comments

  1. Three Chatty Cats · November 15, 2016

    As someone who works solely from home, I understand. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

