Rituals are Comforting

My kitties love ritual.  They have rituals for when I awake, ones when they know the sunbeams in the house are in certain rooms, ones to roust me from work in the afternoon for a brief playtime… and then there is bedtime.  My bedtime, not theirs (which I think is nearly continuous <G>).

Near the end of the bedtime ritual is TV snuggle time.  Princess’s idea of snuggle time is to get up on the top tier of the climbing tree and look down on us benevolently.   Rusty’s idea is to arrange himself pushed against my stomach watching the TV and dozing.

aepcatrustybedtimerituals20170119

When it is a nature show he will stay awake and I’ll pass out… most other shows it is the reverse.

The kitties take their duties and responsibilities of settling me into bed very seriously.  I’m pretty sure they usually depart soon after they have me all tucked in and dreaming.

(BTW the shirt I am wearing says “My cat walks all over me” but that isn’t true – neither of them actually like walking on me… pinning my legs in place come morning while I try to wake up is another mater.)

4 comments

  1. Anonymous · January 21

    YES! Our cats had definite and quite complicated routines especially for going to bed for the night. Deviations from the routine were NOT welcome.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Three Chatty Cats · January 25

    My cats like to walk all over me ONLY when I’m in bed. Probably because they know I won’t grab them to force a cuddle. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • elainesdailykitty · January 25

      That’s a great point – the only time Princess really settles with me is at night when she is sure I won’t inflict myself on her with cuddles and her pining my legs in place is part of that.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

