Making Friends Abroad

Those of you that have been following me know that a few months ago I was in Bermuda and posted a few photos of the feral cats here.

I’m back again and now bribing the locals.  With kitty treats.

There are three feral “resident” kitties at the place I am staying.  They all have their “areas” of the property with a bit of overlap running into one another.  The order of supremacy is quite easy to see.

There is the alpha kitty with an air of entitlement.  He, a sleekly well fed grey tabby, occupies the prime area near the outdoor bar/pool/restaurant.  He is welcoming of pets when HE wants and walks away shortly after being petted.

The second in line is a sweetheart of loving personality and very eager to be petted when he isn’t completely sacked out sound asleep.  He, a svelte grey tabby, haunts the mid-area where the trail from the main entrance (and main dinning room) splits to go down the hill to the rooms along the waterfront.

And finally, a kitty I did not meet the last time I was here, a skittish and scrawny little black kitty that currently lurks under the bushes near the main building.

I am, of course, in love with them all…

All three have either an tattoo or a clipped ear indicating they have been part of the Bermuda program:  http://www.bfab.bm/

This is the friendly (and oh so very polite and patient when you have a bag of crinkly treats in your pocket) middle grey tabby.  AepCatGreyTabbyBERgtb20170710

 

6 comments

  1. Bri Ollre · 9 Days Ago

    Oh my gosh I love this blog! When I travel my friends always make fun of me for befriending all the feral cats but it’s so fun to make cat friends in different countries 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • elainesdailykitty · 8 Days Ago

      Why thank you so much 🙂

      I have friendly foreign feline photos from decades of my travels so I totally understand (we cat whisperers speak cat in many tongues). It is an essential part of travel!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Three Chatty Cats · 6 Days Ago

    It sounds like a perfect place to stay – you get to mingle with kitties! I’m glad they are taken care of, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • elainesdailykitty · 6 Days Ago

      I am also glad they are taken care of. They have found a place where enough people are “kitty folk” that they aren’t going without love or food.

      Like

  3. speakingwins · 2 Days Ago

    It’s important to befriend the purry people when traveling.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

